Progress

I’m always working on several projects at a time, and I typically wait to show everyone once the project is complete. I’m slowly learning that there is beauty in an unfinished project, because it means we’re making progress. I thought I’d break from the norm, and give you guys a look at a couple of projects I’m working on.

Many years ago, I fell in love with a photo of a room that had shiplap, and I knew I wanted it downstairs in the hallway. The magazine, where I found the photo, referred to the look as paneling. Not helpful. It wasn’t until a couple of years ago that I found out the photo featured shiplap. Thank you Joanna Gaines for solving the mystery! None of our home improvement stores carried it though, so I put our ugly downstairs hallway on hold. One day while buying trim, Ryan realized Home Depot had shiplap in stock. Now we could work on this ugly hallway.

Let me back track and tell you a bit more about the hallway. Our downstairs hallway has always been an eyesore, because it’s small and dark. The drywall was also damaged and would require a complete repair and skim job. It’s really hard to find someone to do a great drywall job, so I decided the drywall was coming out after we attempted to fix it ourselves. The drywall looked better, but it didn’t meet my standards of perfection. Here’s a photo of the space, before we started taking down the drywall.

FullSizeRender (4)

We spent several hours removing all of the drywall and nails. We also vacuumed everything really well behind the wall and relocated the security panel.

FullSizeRender (5)

The next step was measuring, cutting, and installing the shiplap. It went up easily and already makes a huge difference.

FullSizeRender (7)

Now we need to fill all of the holes with joint compound, sand it real good, install the trim, and paint everything. We will also replace the original door straight ahead. I’m actually home today due to Irma…so I’m writing and filling holes.

IMG_3954

I am currently working on three quilts right now: one for Ryan, one for my grandmother, and one for myself. I enjoy working on quilts, but it’s not something I work on continuously. I start one project and move on to the next when I get bored or sick of it. I then circle back around to it at a later date. I am determined to finish these quilts by the end of the year though, because I have several more to make afterwards.

I thought I’d share my Grinch quilt, which is super fun and festive. This quilt is a bit more detailed than quilts I’ve made previously. I tend to keep them pretty simple because of my machines and lack of patience. Anyway, I’ve got two rows done thus far! Take a look below.

FullSizeRender (8).jpg

Isn’t it cute? I can’t wait to finish it. I like to work block by block, row by row. I then add borders as I go or around the entire quilt once I’m done piecing the smaller stuff together. I’ve got three more rows to go, and I’m alternating several patterns.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well those are just a couple of projects I am working on right now. I hope Ryan and I finish the downstairs soon, so that I can show you all how great it looks. Check back next week if you’re ready for fall. Until next time, stay safe and have a great week.

 

Leave a Reply